Maggiecrowley's Blog


Olympics

Posted in Uncategorized by Maggie on March 8, 2010

So, I don’t want to forget about this blog for the third week in a row. I’m posting on Monday just to make SURE that I don’t let it get past me!

The Olympics is a pretty broad topic over all. There are Summer Olympics, Winter Olympics, and my personal favorite, Special Olympics.

Having an older sister with Downs Syndrome, my family has always been very involved in the Special Olympics. Growing up we have all coached, participated, and/or cheered for Special Olympic teams in the region, usually several times a year. Currently, my sister, Katie is 27 years old. She competes twice a year with SOGA (Special Olympics Georgia). Katie competes in a swimming tournament in Atlanta in May and plays bocci in the fall. For the past two years, my brother, Peter,and Katie have competed on the same bocci team, making the pair a unified team. Unified Special Olympic teams include at least one member with a disability and at least one member with out a disability. My mom coaches the team. My mom can proudly announce that her bocci team has won several medals within the last two years- a gold and bronze.

Katie and Peter compete in the SOGA Masters Level Games, consisting of athletes twenty-two years and above. For my family, Special Olympics is a huge tradition and event that we all look forward to throughout the year. To me, there is nothing more special than the look on every athletes face while competing. At the SOGA Games, winning is not everything. It is refreshing to watch athletes who don’t care whether they win or lose, everyone is simply happy to participate.

Leave a Reply

