Maggiecrowley's Blog


Posted in Topic of the Week by Maggie on May 29, 2010

Grammar Girl is a hoot! If you haven’t looked at her site, go ahead and laugh out loud, I have!

http://grammar.quickanddirtytips.com/

She is clever, hilarious and Grammar Girl has some seriously dry humor. And she’s also really really good at grammar. Although I began reading her posts and blurbs for class yesterday, I have since gone back and read most of her entries dating back to several months ago. Grammar Girl has some great tips for novice writers like me. One of my favorite Tips she’s posted is “Hey, That’s Not Grammar Girl!” In this post she responds to recent questions asked by her readers. Anything from questions about word choice to spelling, Grammar Girl has an answer. And it tends to be pretty harsh. For example:

“(click) OK, another e-mail about the “color” versus “colour” debate, and if you didn’t hear the “u” in the second, British spelling it’s because it doesn’t belong there. If you really want to get your writing noticed, dot your lower case i’s with ninja stars.  British spellings belong in Britain where they can be cynically and dryly be over-pronounced through a thick handlebar mustache.”


Jokes aside, this woman knows her stuff when it comes to writing. She is the expert! Grammar Girl can differentiate and fully explain the differences between “who” and “whom”, “affect” and “effect”, “lay” and “lie”, and just about every other common writing error known to man. Although I consider myself to be a decent, semi-educated writer, I learned a handful from Grammar Girl in about five minutes. And I learn something new every time I read a post. She is not writing for the Average Joe. She’s writing for people who write and for those of us who care about writing. Grammar Girl is the bomb and I plan on continuing to read her page. Maybe one day I can think of a grammar questions to stump her… I doubt it!

3 Responses to ''

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to ''.

  1. tabathapr said,

    Hey Maggie,
    I agree, she is a great tool to use when you need to check your grammar, I have learned so much, by reading her posts. I love the post where she differentiate between “who” and “whom”, “affect” and “effect” and like you said just about any other common writing error known to man. These are words that I get confused with all the time, so it helped me out a lot. She makes it seem so easy with her rules. I to consider myself to be a semi-educated writer, however I can always use help especially from Grammar Girl. With the help of her and her website we are going to be writing pros in no time. At least I hope I will. Oh! Good Luck with stumping her on a grammar question.
    ~Tabatha Amerson

  2. Ashley said,

    Hey, Maggie! I have read through a lot of your blogs and you are a very eloquent writer. I’ve really enjoyed reading everything, but I love this blog the most! Grammar Girl has been a tremendous help to me- she makes grammar fun, which is weird. She has a Facebook page which I have “liked” and I’m following her on Twitter. I have asked her questions and she actually replies! I asked her about spacing between ellipses, when I noticed she put spaces between her periods and I did (do) not. I’m trying to fix my mistake in my writing now, but it is weird that no one had ever mentioned my mistake before, in school. Great blog, thanks for writing! Ashley


  3. […] Topic of the Week by Maggie Crowley June 13, 2010-Hey, Maggie! I have read through a lot of your blogs and you are a very eloquent writer. I’ve really enjoyed reading everything, but I love this blog the most! Grammar Girl has been a tremendous help to me- she makes grammar fun, which is weird. She has a Facebook page which I have “liked” and I’m following her on Twitter. I have asked her questions and she actually replies! I asked her about spacing between ellipses, when I noticed she put spaces between her periods and I did (do) not. I’m trying to fix my mistake in my writing now, but it is weird that no one had ever mentioned my mistake before, in school. Great blog, thanks for writing! Ashley […]


Leave a Reply

