Maggiecrowley's Blog


Blog Comments

Posted in Topic of the Week by Maggie on June 3, 2010

The Merriam-Webster online dictionary defines a blog as, “a Web site that contains an online personal journal with reflections, comments, and often hyperlinks provided by the writer.”  As part of social media, blog comments are one of the most important parts of blogging! As a novice blogger myself, I am still adjusting to blogging on a regular basis and finding people who share some of my interests to comment on my blog.  Honestly, right now, the only comments I’ve received are from my mom, ha ha! Reciprocally, I rarely find myself commenting on others blogs. While I have begun to regularly post blogs on my own page, I am now interested in  reading others blog more. So, in order to become a more involved blogger, my new  plan of action is to begin commenting on other blogs and attentively respond, should someone comment on my posts.

To gain the whole experience of blogging, comments are an  integral part of the entire blog process. After all, what is the point of sharing thoughts, ideas, and opinions on the internet if no one else is reading it?  So far, as I’ve been blogging, I feel as though I’ve yet to really benefit from the experience because it has been a one-sided conversation with myself.  Comments allow readers and bloggers to respond and further communicate about common interests, or differing opinions.  When fellow bloggers write comments, it turns the entire situation into more of a conversation than a monologue. Comments on blogs can help develop relationships between strangers and open minds in everyone.

So, with my new resolution, I’m looking forward to furthering my education and involvement in blogging. I hope that eventually, even after this class is over, I can blog regularly. That said, I also hope that I can entice readers with clever and meaningful conversation, and reply with comments that spark interest and thought.  Comments can turn blogging as a chore, to a something fun and enjoyable!

One Response to 'Blog Comments'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Blog Comments'.

  1. akw11 said,

    Maggie, I agree with what you said about blog comments being one of the most important components of blogging. It definitely makes blogging more exciting and can be funny to read what others write back to you ..for example comments from your mother.. haha! It does make is more beneficial if others respond to what you have to say and it makes blogging much more fun to think that people actually want to read what you have to say. Hopefully, we can learn from blogging for this class and make it a fun, regular thing that we enjoy to do! 🙂


Leave a Reply

